Tags

, ,

Some how a decision made in my life regarding my eating choices really has an effect on other people.  When I decided to stop eating beef and pork, that was a hard pill for people to swallow.  It had to be associated with a religious belief or I must have an aversion to meat and therefore be a vegetarian.  Even though I never said I was a vegetarian.  “I don’t eat beef or pork.”  “Oh, you’re a vegetarian.”  Funny because you would think that if I were a vegetarian, I would simply say that.

So, now that I have decided to rid my body of its dependence on sugar, again I am having to explain myself over and over.  It is not simple.  Sugar has infiltrated just about every aspect of our lives and goes by so many aliases that it is unimaginable to go without it. And everyone asks, “what will you eat then?”

So, for those who are concerned about my starvation on a diet that does not include any artificial sweeteners or natural sweeteners that are added to and not inherent to the food that I am eating (I know it is a mouthful but, I have friends who challenge my explanation of my challenge so I have to be specific.) there is plenty that I can eat.  As a matter of fact, I am eating better now than I have in a long time and I am enjoying my food more than ever.

Because I am afraid of cravings and the havoc that they play on any diet or diet change, I have started eating breakfast everyday.

Oatmeal with banana

Equal parts oatmeal and rice milk soaked overnight in the refrigerator. Warm for 1 minute in the microwave, add a banana, and enjoy.

Easter dinner was not the traditional fare.  I kept it light albeit not simple since I had to make my own chicken broth for the chicken tortilla soup in order to ensure that there was no sugar.  Tell me, why is sugar necessary in chicken or vegetable broth?

My six-year old is doing so great with the no added sweetener not inherent to the foods dietary challenge.  But, he had a very difficult time sticking to it when his teacher gave him a chocolate egg for Easter.  I was so proud of him for not eating the egg.  He brought it home and showed me then, begged to have it because “this is not fun for me anymore.”  I promised him that we would make a chocolate treat for him and thus the brownies made with brown rice syrup, applesauce, and a banana.

20140424-095100.jpg

It basically comes down to this.  It is easy to think of all of the things that we cannot have and grow weary of this choice to kickstart a lifestyle change with a challenge.  But, I’d rather spend my time exploring the rest of the world of food.  I have spent more time in the last two weeks on recipe websites and playing with different combinations of food than I have in the last year.  I am having fun and along the way, I am teaching my six-year old two very valuable lessons.  Health is important above all other things and we are not quitters.  When you say you are going to do something, you do it!