Tags

, , , ,

A guest post by Samantha F.

OK, I know it’s probably all water weight, but I lost 3.6 lbs. the first day!!! 3.6 lbs.! I don’t care if it’s water weight or excess air exhaled from my lungs, I lost 3.6 lbs.! That’s motivation. Bring on day 2!

As I have read more about this diet on the Internet (I don’t actually have the book), I have gathered that probiotics are a significant part of it. As someone who tries to avoid animal products, I had just planned on leaving out the yogurt. Today I decided to try to find a pro-biotic substitute. After 30 minutes perusing the shelves at my favorite grocery store I settled on Good Belly shots. They are vegan, have pre and pro-biotics, added vitamins, and each one only has 50 calories and 3 grams of sugar. I spent $5 on 4 tiny little bottles (2.7 oz) but they serve the purpose and actually didn’t taste too bad.

I did cheat a little today. For some reason I REALLY wanted some of the grapefruit juice that I had in the fridge and ended up drinking about 6 oz of it. I justified it by telling myself it would be one of my two servings of fruit… but then I still had two additional servings of fruit. Oh well.

I’ve also got my boyfriend on the diet. He has about 20 lbs to lose and has a really hard time avoiding drive-thru dinners and junk food. He has lost and gained the same 20 lbs on Nutri-System on two occasions but I think he may be more successful with a diet that can be a permanent solution. From a selfish standpoint, I am really excited he agreed to join me. If he is eating the same things I’m eating (plus meat), there are less temptations in front of me and things in general are more simple (cooking, eating out, etc).

Day 2, Cycle 1
16 oz of water when I woke up

Breakfast
Veggie Egg Soufflé- 3 Egg whites, @ Tbs almond milk, chopped veggies- mushrooms, green onions, tomatoes, and spinach
2 cups raw spinach, ¼ cup fresh cilantro, ¼ cup fresh parsley
16 oz black coffee
6 oz grapefruit juice

Snack
1 banana
12 oz hot water with freshly squeezed lemon juice

Lunch
Large arugula, swiss chard, kale salad with ½ cup low sodium garbanzo beans and about 1 Tbs of balsamic vinegrette
16 oz water

Snack
Good belly
½ cup sliced strawberries
16 oz water

12 oz hot water with lemon

Dinner
Large spinach, kale, romaine salad with raw cabbage, parsley, cilantro, and green onions and about ¼ cup of oil free hummus
1 yellow squash and 1 zuchini, sliced and broiled with olive oil spray, garlic, and Cajun spice.
½ cup of low sodium pinto beans
16 oz water

16 ozs of water before bed

