Tags

, , ,

I am not a sore loser.  That does not mean that I don’t get sore when I lose. After all, if I don’t really want something, then I don’t go after it.  It would be a waste of my time and energy to focus on achieving something that I do not really aspire to achieve.  And, it is a big deal.  It is a very big deal.  Not one that I am going to lose too much sleep over (of course, I will lose some sleep) but, still a very big deal when I am within reach and then, at the blink of an eye, the prize is snatched right from under my nose.

It was MY prize.

Okay.  I can rationalize that if I didn’t get it, then it wasn’t meant for me to have.  Or, there is obviously something greater in store for me.  But, logic does not always soothe…not immediately, anyway.  Eventually, it will.  Because, ultimately, no matter what those that are more spiritually vocal than I might say, claiming it does not always make it yours.

And what about when you know who took your prize, the one that wasn’t really yours in the first place, or the one that you claimed and then didn’t get?  What about when you know, from experience, their strengths and weaknesses and you can compare them to your strengths and weaknesses and you are clearly stronger.  What about that?

You win some and you lose some.  That is the truth.

And being sore when you lose is not the same as being a sore loser.  Because, again, losing hurts.  Even if it is a momentary pain that will quickly be covered/erased by a greater gain.  It STILL hurts.  But, that does not mean that I hate the better applicant.  It just makes me ever more determined to beef up my application.

Dang it.  Just one more reminder to get off of my tush and get to my master plan.  And, again, I am not a sore loser.

