Tags

, , , , ,

No one wants to be slighted for the hard work that they do regardless of how insignificant someone else feels it is.  Who cares what value others give to your choices, the only thing that matters is the value you place on it because what is important to you is sure to not be important to everyone else.  However, I really don’t see why people are taking issue with recent stabs at the wife of wealthy politician Mitt Romney.  It doesn’t matter what side of the aisle you sit on, logic should remain…there is a difference between stay-at-home moms and working moms.

Don’t get me wrong, I wholeheartedly profess that staying at home with kids is hard work.  Sometimes, as much as I can’t stand going to work, work is my refuge from what is required of me when I am at home with the kids all day.  And as much as I would love to do it if I could, I don’t think it would serve me or my kids well to have to deal with each other all day every day.  I’m joking…a little.

Still.  There is a difference in having the ability to choose to stay at home to raise your children while support comes from a spouse or partner and having to work outside of the home in order to support your children.  There is no shame in either and I do not believe that one is better than the other neither will I say that one way is to be coveted more than the other.  Although, I don’t know anyone who would not like the ability to make the choice.

Stay-at-home moms and working moms (again, I know they work, too, but I have to make some kind of distinction) put to use the same communication, time-management, people management, prioritization, organization skills necessary to be successful in their chosen fields and yet…

Stay-at-home moms are their own boss. Unless, of course they let the children run all over them, which would just be sad.

Stay-at-home moms don’t have to clock in. 

Stay-at-home moms don’t have to try to get home around a traffic accident that has closed down the highway and closed off the only route home leaving the kid at day care for 30 minutes after closing and auntie rushing to pick him up.

Stay-at-home moms don’t have to juggle their bosses expectations with the school field trip schedule.

Stay-at-home moms don’t have to take their lunch at the exact same time everyday in order to make sure that there is coverage in the office.

Stay-at-home moms of school-age kids don’t have to figure out cleaning and managing household chores around the kid sitting on the couch making a mess just as soon as they clean it.

Stay-at-home moms can get dinner started early, if they want to.

Stay-at-home moms don’t have to rely on a slow cooker to make sure dinner is ready before pre-schooler dies of starvation after being picked up by 6:00 p.m. 

Stay-at-home moms have someone else who earns the pay to pay the bills.  And when that someone has more than enough money to support several households, I get it.  That stay-at-home mom cannot speak for what I want and need because she probably has no clue.  She cannot possibly understand my need to live according to a strict budget or how missing a day of work may effect my ability to pay my bills and pay them on time.  She cannot understand others like me who may live paycheck to paycheck.  She cannot know the difficulty in giving up your career because the cost of day care is such that it does not make sense to burden the family with it in order to take home an extra $100 or $200 after paying taxes and child care.  Hilary Rosen said what many were thinking, “Who is she to speak for all women, a majority of which do not have her privilege?” 

I have nothing against Ann Romney staying home with her children but, Ann does not have the type of experience to advise her husband on what working women (those that work outside of the home) want. But, let me be clear, I also don’t think that she can advise her husband on what any woman wants.  She cannot speak for me.  Can she speak for you, your wife, your sister, your mother? 

Related articles

